overall
100
100
style
RATINGS: 2157   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.23/5   IBU: 100   EST. CALORIES: 285   ABV: 9.5%
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
A hopheadís dream beer. This Imperial India Pale Ale has an opening salvo of mango, peach and citrus hop aromas that sit atop a pronounced caramel malt backbone. Although Dreadnaught is a strong and intensely hoppy ale, its complex flavors is both smooth and memorable. 9.5% ABV, 100 IBUs.

Tick this beer for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


4.5
sjohnny (627) - - JUN 10, 2017
Mango. Citrus. Pine. Orange Amber with a thick foamy white head. Slow fade. Thick lacing. Chunks of foam floating on the surface. Big fruit. A hint of candy sweet. Thick chewy mouthfeel. Resin. Bitter finish with the faintest hint of booze. ---Rated via Beer Buddy for iPhone

4.4
BeerdedDave (1678) - Beckley, USA - MAY 16, 2017
amber color; citrusy hop aroma; intensely hoppy, but still quite drinkable; bitter, citrusy hop flavor; fairly well balanced and smooth for such a hop monster

4.2
jc1762 (1372) - Washington DC, USA - MAY 3, 2017
Bottle into a wineglass showing moderately filtered caramel brown with a finger of quickly dissipating clean white foam. The nose shows moderately intense notes of mango, peach, and light tropical fruit (pineapple, kiwi) on a strong caramel malt backbone. Exactly as the description. The palate is light to medium bodied and well carbonated Moderately intense flavors of mango, peach, and pineapple with hints of kiwi with a strong yet restrained bitterness followed by another resurgence of fresh fruit on the palate. Alcoholic and hoppy zest all around the palate but still very drinkable.

4.1
k0mpsa (2925) - Tuusula, FINLAND - MAR 30, 2017
Tap at cbc16. Golden color and white head. Aroma has tropical fruits, some caramel and malty sweetness in it. Tropical fruits like mango and pineapple, some malty sweetness. Nicely bitter fruity end.

4.2
Welley_Alves (261) - Sao Paulo, BRAZIL - MAR 21, 2017
Pra encerrar a noite. 3Floyds Dreadnaught IPA. Ótima west coast, lembra muito centennial na lupulagem. Ótima! 4/5 ---Rated via Beer Buddy for iPhone

4.9
Troupis (247) - - MAR 4, 2017
Floral heavy headed hops. Has hints of a triple IPA in its finish. Reminds me of Hop Stoopid with a bigger price tag but also a freshness that sets it apart. Super complex palate which can be hard at 100 IBU but totally pulled off. This is as good as hoppy bears get. Reminds me of Pliney but with less citrus and more mango/tobacco hints. Bottle from Lous on Hobson outside Naperville. ---Rated via Beer Buddy for iPhone

4.2
papat444 (136) - Carignan, Quebec, CANADA - FEB 14, 2017
Appearance: Deep orange body. Hazy looking with a 1 finger head (more foam/lacing when i pour in my wifeís glass) and very active carbonation. Smell: Citrus fruit, more specifically fresh & ripe mango. Good piney hop smell but not overpowering the other aromas. Very good. Taste: Iím hit with the fresh mango again and i literally get a mental image of eating a mango. A slightly sweet fruit taste with some peach fuzz as well. Some discreet pine and my wife says it has a peppery feel to it. The taste definitely more than backs up the smell. Mouthfeel: Good balance between malt and hops but tends more to the malty side. Almost no bitter hops which disappointed me a little but nonetheless i canít argue that this is a greatly constructed brew. Very smooth and feels a little juicy. Bitterness opens up a little as it warms.

4.1
MrBeerFanatic (1052) - Indianapolis, Indiana, USA - FEB 12, 2017
Had to pick one of these 22oz at a local beer store to see what the hype was about. I can see this being made to compete in beer competitions. Pours a medium to light amber with rich orange hues with a slightly cloudy appearance. The head comes out strong and thick holding its own for about a minute then slowly melting. The hop aromas are very strong and complex. I get pine, grapefruit, pineapple, caramel, juicyfruit, grapefruit (sooo nice!). The flavors here were a little bit of a sad sad dissapointment for me. I have had sooooo many ipas and dipas and I find that most do not get much higher than an 8 for flavor. This one fails to make it any higher. I donít know if its the big caramel backbone or possibly that it has aged past its prime but man, I could or should be even better! Ok so theres the medium pine/citrus/apricot/ slight mango and high caramel backbone with just a ting of alcohol in the finish. Iím hoping I just got an older bottle of some kind. Medium sweet medium to high bitter finish. Iíve made dipas that taste almost the same as this one and most of my beers are on the level of decent. The label sayís memorable but I may forget...Still though, its on a level that flirts with greatness.......

4.4
kathryne (16) - Toronto, Ontario, CANADA - JAN 29, 2017
Everytime I drive to Chicago I load up on the Imperial IPA. A bold original IPA flavour that is often diluted with many new IPAs being brewed.

4.3
willisread (3306) - Nashville, Tennessee, USA - JAN 17, 2017
Tap at Jís. Pours a clear gold with a finger of foam that lingers. Whoa! Super fresh on tap. Tons of ruby red grapefruit with light dank notes and tangerine aromas. Clean and crisp on the palate with more citrus and ruby red grapefruit. Light bitterness and good lingering juicy fruit and dank. This was quite a head of its time. Fantastic.


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 216
Tick this beer for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5