overall
100
100
style
Serve in Snifter

bottling
unknown

on tap
unknown

Local Distribution

Add Distribution Data
RATINGS: 967   WEIGHTED AVG: 4.29/5   EST. CALORIES: 330   ABV: 11%
COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
In Mayan mythology, Hun Hunahpu was the father of the Mayan hero twins Hunahpu and Xbalanque. Hun Hunahpu, along with his brother Vucub Hunahpu, was tricked by the Dark Lords of the underworld and slain. Hun Hunahpuís corpse morphed into a cacao tree, his head becoming a cacao pod, which in typically awesome mythology fashion, spit upon the hand of a young maiden named Xiquic who promptly became pregnant with the hero twins. The twins would ultimately grow up to avenge their father and uncle and defeat the Dark Lords and ascend the heavens to become the moon and sun. We brew Hunahpuís Imperial Stout once a year and release it only at the brewery. We will continue to do so until the end of the cycle. Released on the second Saturday in March at the brewery.

Tick this beer for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5


4.4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 18/20
Suttree (6235) - Knoxville, Tennessee, USA - FEB 8, 2017
2016 Vintage thanks to drowland - Huge thanks, man! I freely admit that I am susceptible to hype, but I donít think thatís the case here. Dense black, with a thin ring of foam. Iím not going to do a laundry list of flavors, just gonna say that everything meld beautifully and the whole is more than the sum of itís parts. Really nice.

4.5
   AROMA 9/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 19/20
Batavi (376) - Waalwijk, NETHERLANDS - FEB 7, 2017
Geproefd op Borefts 2016, het eerste bier van het festival, en een waar ik lang naar uit heb gekeken. Het werd uitgeschonken in het festival proefglaasje uit een wijn decanteerder, slechts een half glaasje vol, wat natuurlijk het exclusieve imago verhoogd. Dikke olieachtige body, met weinig schuim, een kleine lichtbruine schuimkraag die snel wegtrekt. Aromaís van chocolade, kaneel, koekjes, vanille, kokos, specerijen, sojasaus, donker fruit. Het smaakpallet is zeer complex en met een vol en olieachtig mondgevoel. Tonen van pure chocolade, zachte koffie, kokos, kaneel, vanille en een subtiele peper notitie, een geweldig complex bier. Zachte carbonatie, en een lange afdronk van kokos en lichte kruidige tonen. Prachtig bier om het geweldige Borefts festival 2016 mee te beginnen! Toch werden de torenhoge verwachtingen niet geheel ingelost, er waren 2 Imperial Stouts op dit festival die ik proefde die beter waren (deze waren wel BA overigens) Toch ben ik hard op zoek naar een fles van Cigar City Hunahpuís Imperial Stout voor een meer uitgebreidere beoordeling in aroma en smaak notities. Cigar City is echt een zeer goede brouwerij uit de USA in meerdere stijlen.

4
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 7/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 16/20
fiery_1 (584) - Vancouver, British Columbia, CANADA - JAN 28, 2017
750ml bottle @ Alexís. Pours a thick black light absorbing colour oil with a small brown head. Nose is sweet bourbon, cinnamon, chocolate. Flavour is chocolate, dark fruit, some chilies. Itís a weird mix.

4.2
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 16/20
beerplace (1228) - Vancouver, British Columbia, CANADA - JAN 28, 2017
750ml bottle (thx, Jonatahan G.!) at Alexís. Bottled on 2016-03-12. Pours an almost black with a dark beige head. Aroma is cinnamon, some coffee and roasted malt, slight sourness. Taste is sweet, slightly sour, spicy hot with cinnamon notes. Thick stuff, but too much of cinnamon for me.

4.3
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 17/20
Chalumeaux (1324) - Middleton, Massachusetts, USA - JAN 14, 2017
Poured from bottle thanks Dchmela dated 3/8/14 rate 1200. Black oil pour with a thin tan head and nice lacing. Aromas of bourbon cinnamon roasted malt chocolate vanilla and chilies. Taste is luscious well balanced notes of chocolate dark fruit chilies that linger into the finish but donít overpower. This was well worth the wait. Thanks Dave.

4.3
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 9/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 17/20
punkska101 (1893) - Chambly, Quebec, CANADA - DEC 23, 2016
UPDATED: DEC 24, 2016 Bottle shared by Alex thx my man. Drank with the boys A: Bourbon, alcohol, figs, cinnamon rolls, roasty, licorice, raisins. App: pitch black sparing beige head. T/p: full body with moderate long bitter finish. Soft carbonation. Hotness from the alcohol. O: Impressive how the spiciness come through. I enjoy the hotness on this. Glad I share it since itís a beast. I really dig that kinda cinnamon rolls aroma you get. A really nice winter warmer.

3.9
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 15/20
Stoned99 (1427) - Montreal, Quebec, CANADA - DEC 23, 2016
750ml March í16 bottle shared with Ben, Seb and Jo. Aroma: big licorice, cinnamon and other spices. App: dark brown, sparing brown head, no lacing. Taste and palate: full body, smooth, lots of spices in mouth too but itís much more pleasant than in aroma, light bitter finish. Overall: good but not great. Donít think it deserves to be rated that high. But Iím not a big spice fan. On the other hand the texture is prefect.

4.6
   AROMA 10/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 10/10   PALATE 5/5   OVERALL 17/20
anstei (1690) - Zurich, SWITZERLAND - DEC 17, 2016
Bottle, courtesy through SinH4 and Jdizzle1, many many thanks! Pours black with a dark brown foam. Aroma is pure cocoa and hot chocolate. Body is heavy, boozy, but with the hot chocolate there is coconut and coffee. Super sweet and also boozy, but it works so, so well. Palate drowns in flavours. Oh boy, what a great, great beer. Worth all the praise!

4.2
   AROMA 8/10   APPEARANCE 5/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 17/20
Scotty001 (563) - Portlethen, SCOTLAND - DEC 17, 2016
Poured pitch black with a small tan head.. Aroma of roasted dark chocolate malt, roast coffee beans and some liquorice. Full body, flavour as per the aroma with some saltyness and vanilla smoothness. Dry, bitter chocolate end.

3.8
   AROMA 7/10   APPEARANCE 4/5   TASTE 8/10   PALATE 4/5   OVERALL 15/20
FatPhil (15106) - Tallinn, ESTONIA - DEC 13, 2016
660ml bottle - thanks Enn! 2016 vintage
Very nice aroma, swwet, a glazed pastry with pistachios. Looks good. Dark, and a tight head. Tells me itís going to be viscous. Not too heavy in the mouth, extremely full and smooth, a good consistency for a sipper. Chilli heat is obvious, but is kept remarkably mellow. Taste dominated by sugars, unsurprisigly, but is rather complex. Plenty pf piparkakku, and a nice chocolatiness to the roast. Very nice brew. Almost beer of the evening apart from the batch 028 Pohjala Oo that we pretty much started with, that had aged and become serious, this is young and still trying to stuff itself with candies, cookies, and chocolate. (It tied with a couple of other Pohjala Oo variants/vintages.)


We Want To Hear From You



Join us! RateBeer is made by beer enthusiasts for the craft beer community. Your basic membership is free and allows you to read all beer ratings. Click here to create your account... and give your opinion!

Join Us »



Page    1  2 3 4 » 97
Tick this beer for your profile
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5