Related stories Related stories

Other Stories By Brewers Association

  AHA Conference Reports
       Jun 28, 2005

  American Beer Month Promotional Aids
       May 10, 2005

  AHA Celebrates National Homebrew Day
       Apr 26, 2005

home Home > Subscribe to Ratebeer.com Weekly RateBeer Archives > Brewers/Industry

BA 2007 Achievement Award Winners

News from the CBC 2007
Brewers/Industry April 20, 2007      
Written by Brewers Association

Boulder, COLORADO -

Austin, Texas. • April 19, 2007- A capacity crowd attending the opening session of the Brewers Association’s annual Craft Brewers Conference applauded the recognition of three outstanding individuals in the brewing industry who were presented awards for dedication and service.

The Brewers Association Recognition Award went to Jack McAuliff, founder of New Albion Brewing Company. McAuliff’s inspiration, enthusiasm and support have contributed to the development of the North American craft beer movement.

Steve Bradt, Head Brewer at Free State Brewing Company and Brewers Association Board of Directors member says, "As founder of what author Maureen Ogle calls ‘...the most important failed brewery in the industry’s history, the New Albion Brewing Co.’ Jack McAuliffe epitomizes the kind of tough, ingenious, creative and fiercely independent men and women who have come since in the Craft Brewing world. In fact, we could probably find reason to present him with each of the awards presented today, not just this one."

Each year the Brewers Association Recognition Award is presented. Members of the association nominate candidates and the Brewers Association Board of Directors votes to determine the winner.

The Brewers Association presented the Russell Schehrer Award for Innovation in Brewing to Matt Brynildson of Firestone Walker Brewing Co. Brynildson received this year’s award for demonstrating creativity, excellence in brewing and substantial contributions to the craft brewing community.

Bradt says "Matt successfully operates the only commercial Burton Union type brewing system in the U.S. He’s been a leader in barrel aging experimentation and contributed greatly to the education of his fellow craft brewers on the subject of hop use as well. I think he’s a perfect fit for the Russ Schehrer Award."

The Russell Schehrer Award for Innovation in Brewing was first given in 1997 to honor Russell Schehrer, who died in 1996 at 38 years old, for his contributions to the brewing industry. Schehrer was a founding partner and original head brewer at Colorado’s first brewpub Wynkoop Brewing Co. He was also one of the first brewers to produce mead, doppel alt, cream stout and chili beer.

Brewers Association brewery members submit nominations every year for the Russell Schehrer Award for Innovation in Brewing. The winner is chosen from the slate of nominees by a vote of the previous award winners.

The Brewers Association presented the F.X. Matt Defense of the Industry award to George Hancock, Chair of Pyramid Brewing Co. and past President of the Washington Brewers Guild.

George received this award in recognition for being a tireless and outspoken champion of the small brewing industry. Bradt says, "George Hancock has shown tremendous leadership during his tenure as president of the Washington State Brewer’s Guild. The Guild was instrumental in establishing the Washington Beer Commission, the first of it’s kind in the U.S. One of the descriptions used for the late F.X. Matt was that he was a tireless defender of small brewers - George has certainly shown that same spirit and determination in his work in Washington State."

The F.X. Matt Award is given in honor of a champion of small brewers, F.X. Matt (1933-2001), president of the F.X. Matt Brewing Co. in Utica, New York from 1980-1989 and Chairman from 1989-2001.

A list of past award winners follows:

Russell Schehrer Award for Innovation in Brewing Winners

2006 - Dan Carey, New Glarus Brewing Company

2005- Greg Noonan, Vermont Pub and Brewery

2004-Dick Cantwell, Elysian Brewing Co.

2003-Phil Markowski, Southampton Publick House

2002-John Mallett, Kalamazoo Brewing Co.

2001-John Harris, Full Sail Brewing Co.

2000-Mark Carpenter, Anchor Brewing Co.

1999-Fal Allen, Anderson Valley Brewing Co.

1998-Garrett Oliver, Brooklyn Brewery

1997-John Maier, Oregon Brewing Co./Rogue Ales

Brewers Association Recognition Award Winners

2006-Chuck Skypeck, Boscos Brewing Co.

2005- Carol Stoudt, Stoudts Brewing Company

2004-Jack Joyce, Rogue Ales

2003-Mary-Anne Gruber, Briess Malting Co.

2002-George Fix, Clemson University

2001-Jim and Bobbie Kennedy, Admiralty Beverage Russell

2000-Ralph Olson and Ralph Woodall, Hopunion CBS, LLC

1999-Bill Owens, American Brewer Magazine

1998-Charles Finkel, Merchant du Vin

1997-Jim Koch and Rhonda Kallman, Boston Beer Co.

1996, Karl Strauss, Karl M. Strauss Consulting

1995-John Hickenlooper and Russell Schehrer, Wynkoop Brewing Co.

1994-Fred Scheer, Frankenmuth Brewery

1993-Jeff Mendel, Institute for Brewing Studies

1992-Paul Shipman, Red Hook Ale Brewery

1991-Ken Grossman, Sierra Nevada Brewing Co.

1990-Bert Grant, Yakima Brewing and Malting

1989-Roger Briess, Briess Malting Co.

1988-Fritz Maytag, Anchor Brewing Co.

1987-Michael Jackson

F.X. Matt Defense of the Small Brewing Industry Award Winners

2006- Daniel Bradford

2005- Marc Sorini, McDermott Will & Emery

2004- Marc Sorini, BAA Counsel

2003- Jim Parker, Oregon Brewers Guild

2002- Mike McKinney, Texas Wholesalers Association

2001- David Edgar, Past Institute for Brewing Studies Director

2000- Fred Bowman, Portland Brewing Co.



No comments added yet

You must be logged in to post comments


Anyone can submit an article to RateBeer. Send your edited, HTML formatted article to our Editor-In-Chief.