Brewing "tight"

Reads 1804 • Replies 12 • Started Monday, November 30, 2015 8:08:11 AM CT

The forums you're viewing are the static, archived version. You won't be able to post or reply here.
Our new, modern forums are here:
RateBeer Forums

Thread Frozen

JulienHuxley
beers 6219 º places 450 º 08:08 Mon 11/30/2015

Hey guys,

I’ve been brewing for a couple of years now and feel quite comfortable with my equipment and process so I’ve been finding myself improvising and eyeballing a lot of things in my typical brewday. Yesterday however I brewed for the 4th time in 3 weeks and decided to be very serious in the application of my recipe. I hadn’t brewed so carefully in a long time and was impressed by the relative precision I was able to obtain, in SG, in fermentor volume, in color, in pH and so on. Definitely brought an element of fun I wasn’t really expecting.

How would you guys describe your brewday attention to detail? Are you more of a sloppy "it’ll taste good" brewer or are you generally very meticulous? Have you found yourself swinging between both types? I remember as a rookie being obsessed with notes and measurements, now it feels like I might be going back to it (a bit).

HornyDevil
08:11 Mon 11/30/2015

Originally posted by JulienHuxley
How would you guys describe your brewday attention to detail? Are you more of a sloppy "it’ll taste good" brewer or are you generally very meticulous? Have you found yourself swinging between both types? I remember as a rookie being obsessed with notes and measurements, now it feels like I might be going back to it (a bit).

I’ve definitely honed my process over the years. As well as what I include in my notes.

Meticulous? Probably not, but I can repeat a beer pretty closely if necessary.

skinnyguy
13:14 Fri 12/4/2015