Secondary fermentation ?

Reads 2801 • Replies 17 • Started Saturday, August 15, 2015 7:27:58 PM CT

The forums you're viewing are the static, archived version. You won't be able to post or reply here.
Our new, modern forums are here:
RateBeer Forums

Thread Frozen

Senormac
beers 16 º places 2 º 19:27 Sat 8/15/2015

I’m pretty new to the homebrew scene but am having a blast with the extract kits I’ve purchased. I’ll be giving all grain a try soon ( I hope) Anyways, I just wanted to hear from some more experienced home brewers why you do a secondary fermenter? Does it help the flavor outcome ? I have enough carboys, so that is not a problem. Just wondering if its worth the trouble. Thanks for any replies. Cheers

SpringsLicker
beers 3919 º places 158 º 20:06 Sat 8/15/2015

For making a good drinkable beer, no it isn’t necessary. And a lot of homebrewers use a long primary and skip the secondary entirely. I use a secondary. Racking to secondary helps to clarify the beer. The difference between a good drinkable homebrew and homebrew that is better than what you can usually buy sometimes is doing a lot of little extra things that would be unprofitable commercially. It won’t hurt to experiment for yourself on different batches. Develop a system of brewing that works with your style and resources. Enjoy the hobby! If you can boil water, you can make good beer. and if you can read a thermometer, you can make great beer.

Senormac
beers 16 º places 2 º 22:19 Sat 8/15/2015

I would like clear beer. I’ve made 10 batches of cloudy already. I have heard that Irish moss is good for clarity but if one tablespoon per gallon is required..... they don’t give you enough for 5 gallons. I’m going to try and rack to a secondary after the bubbler goes down to a very slow rate, like one "bloop" per minute. Thx SL

erickok
beers 6033 º places 274 º 00:18 Sun 8/16/2015