Yeast strain importance as relating to style

Reads 1418 • Replies 13 • Started Wednesday, February 13, 2013 1:23:07 PM CT

The forums you're viewing are the static, archived version. You won't be able to post or reply here.
Our new, modern forums are here:
RateBeer Forums

Thread Frozen

sawdeanz
beers 5 º places 1 º 13:23 Wed 2/13/2013

I’m pretty new to everything but am about to start my second mr. beer batch. I picked out a doppelbock recipe because I like the style. One thing I’ve noticed is that nearly all mr. beer recipes/kits, including this one use an ale yeast to make brewing process easier (as it can be made at roomtemp). I’m just curious as to how this affects adherence of the beer to the style. Is a doppelbock brewed with ale instead of lager yeast still technically a true bock?
This is more of just a curiosity i’m not necessarily interested in using a different type of yeast than supplied.

drewbeerme
beers 3921 º places 1 º 13:25 Wed 2/13/2013

No

VsXsV
beers 5000 º places 92 º 13:26 Wed 2/13/2013

Nope, a bock needs to be fermented with a lager yeast. Should be some kind of strong ale instead if you use an ale yeast.

HornyDevil
14:22 Wed 2/13/2013

Originally posted by sawdeanz
I’m just curious as to how this affects adherence of the beer to the style. Is a doppelbock brewed with ale instead of lager yeast still technically a true bock?

As all have said, no, this won’t be a bock unless it is fermented with a bottom fermenting lager strain.

Originally posted by sawdeanz
This is more of just a curiosity i’m not necessarily interested in using a different type of yeast than supplied.

That being said, you can still come out with a good beer, it just won’t be technically a bock and you shouldn’t expect it to be.

TheBeerSommelier
16:51 Wed 2/13/2013

As an aside, bocks may indeed be ales.

You may not end up with a doppelbock, according to BJCP guidelines, but top fermenting yeasts can most definitely create a bock.