What’s on the go?

Reads 11747 • Replies 102 • Started Friday, February 13, 2015 7:18:04 AM CT

The forums you're viewing are the static, archived version. You won't be able to post or reply here.
Our new, modern forums are here:
RateBeer Forums

Thread Frozen

joeneugs
beers 6372 º places 240 º 21:33 Mon 6/22/2015

Brewing a 10 gallon batch of Schwarzbier this weekend. I’m going with the slightly out of style recipe in Brewing Classic Styles since this is my first attempt at the style. 5 gallons will be hopped traditionally, the other 5 gallons will be a single hop all Polaris beer. Looking forward to tasting the results in about 3 months or so.

Homer321
beers 5369 º places 54 º 05:25 Tue 6/23/2015

Originally posted by CLevar
Yesterday, MatSciGuy and I brewed ~35 gal of Gose, which is currently fermenting with the plantarum plus brevis blend from Omega yeast I just ranted about in the other thread. It will get a big slug of Hefe yeast tomorrow AM. Looking forward to having a lot of this to drink this summer, even if it may not get as tart as I wanted it to.

Any update on how the plantarum worked out? Did it drop the pH sufficiently in a couple of days?

Also, why hefe yeast? I was planning on pitching Wyeast 1056 48 hours after lacto pitch.

CLevar
places 23 º 06:41 Tue 6/23/2015

Originally posted by Homer321
Yesterday, MatSciGuy and I brewed ~35 gal of Gose, which is currently fermenting with the plantarum plus brevis blend from Omega yeast I just ranted about in the other thread. It will get a big slug of Hefe yeast tomorrow AM. Looking forward to having a lot of this to drink this summer, even if it may not get as tart as I wanted it to.

Any update on how the plantarum worked out? Did it drop the pH sufficiently in a couple of days?

Also, why hefe yeast? I was planning on pitching Wyeast 1056 48 hours after lacto pitch.

Have not sampled yet. I believe that MatSciGuy will this weekend.