CAMRA vote on craft beer

Reads 7468 • Replies 83 • Started Monday, May 16, 2011 10:34:22 AM CT

The forums you're viewing are the static, archived version. You won't be able to post or reply here.
Our new, modern forums are here:
RateBeer Forums

Thread Frozen

EdKing
beers 3664 º places 307 º 10:34 Mon 5/16/2011

I’ve never heard CAMRA mentioned on here, but I guess a few people are members. Interested on what people think about the vote on whether CAMRA should support craft beer instead of just Cask.

It’s being turned into a cask versus keg debate, it seems.

I’m pretty new to this but I’ve thought for a while that CAMRA is missing the biggest thing going on right now by not embracing craft beer, although always pleased with the USA stalls at GBBF.

As a novice here’s a few questions for you chaps. How much craft beer is keg? Most American craft beers are bottle conditioned right?

Can someone enlighten me a bit about what the issues are from the craft beer scene point of view on this debate?

chriso
beers 7540 º places 736 º 11:09 Mon 5/16/2011

Wasn’t aware there had been a vote. Source?

Gary
beers 2114 º places 4 º 11:24 Mon 5/16/2011

EdKing
beers 3664 º places 307 º 11:30 Mon 5/16/2011

Sorry, I’m wrong. There is no vote. It’s a debate going on and there’s an article in CAMRA’s ’Beer’ magazine where proponents and opposers are discussing it.

haddonsman
beers 1234 º places 56 º 11:34 Mon 5/16/2011

There was no cask/keg vote at AGM. There is debate within/out of CAMRA about keg beer, heightened since Roger Protz’s article in April’s What’s Brewing.

There’s no such thing as craft beer in the UK. It’s just another pointless marketing term.

Brewers can say they brew it, bars can say they serve it, drinkers can say they drink it. But it’s just beer.

Gazza
beers 727 º places 167 º 11:47 Mon 5/16/2011

Originally posted by haddonsman
There’s no such thing as craft beer in the UK. It’s just another pointless marketing term.