How are styles determined

Reads 2245 • Replies 34 • Started Tuesday, July 1, 2008 12:31:01 PM CT

The forums you're viewing are the static, archived version. You won't be able to post or reply here.
Our new, modern forums are here:
RateBeer Forums

Thread Frozen

Oakes
admin
beers 30681 º places 1135 º 18:03 Tue 7/1/2008

Originally posted by kp
Originally posted by urbeer
So as an artist, I only, have the right to say what my creation really is, the rest only can guess.

RateBeer has a history of ignoring the style set forth by the brewer in favor of what style the admins believe it to be. There are many examples where the style is part of the name of the beer, yet it gets classified elsewhere. Not defending or condemning, just saying.

This is a gross misstatement.

When in doubt, the brewer’s views supercede the opinion of any admin. That policy goes back to the Alpha King decision of 2002.

When there is no doubt, we supercede the brewer’s take. The most blatant example is Alexander Keith’s India Pale Ale, which bears not one single attribute of that style.

The most common are with American brewers calling their bog standard goldens ales "Kolsch". If a brewer is going to try to pass off a beer as being in a style it isn’t for the purposes of marketing cachet, we will call them on it. You see this with alt as well, and with pilsner in macrobrews.

We do try to provide the consumer with useful information. If the brewer is definitely not providing accurate information on their label, we do our best to fill the void.

Cletus
beers 6349 º places 233 º 18:38 Tue 7/1/2008

I have a problem, a big problem. We @ Struise do not brew to styles, we dear say, due to our excentric Struise signature, we create our own new styles, like a lot of other creative brewers do.

But the above issue does not make any sense in the world of Ratebeer, Michael Jackson, Tim Webb, etc... How come?