Why don’t we just list every effin’ pub in London?

Reads 5547 • Replies 96 • Started Thursday, September 20, 2012 12:15:48 PM CT

The forums you're viewing are the static, archived version. You won't be able to post or reply here.
Our new, modern forums are here:
RateBeer Forums

Thread Frozen

mR_fr0g
beers 29173 º places 44 º 15:58 Fri 9/21/2012

I’m pretty new to this, so don’t kill the newb. I don’t see the problem with listing any and every pub in London. The Best pubs will naturally float to the top due to good reviews, thus allowing people to find the best places to go. Democracy in action.

Even if a bad pub is listed on here this is still useful information. I may google said bad pub and find some awful reviews on RB. So i don’t go there. If it had not been listed I may take a punt on it.

Fin
beers 17288 º places 1653 º 23:24 Fri 9/21/2012

Great debate however I think where Gazza is wrong on this is that his view is prejudiced by what he feels constitutes the perfect place and place section. If he had children he may think differently, if he considered history and architectural splendour as part of the reason for visiting a pub he may also think differently. In short I do what many others do, i.e. consider a number of factors and use other sites or guides before making my choice. I don’t doubt for one minute that Gazza would be one of my first ports of call if I were seeking out where to drink wonderful, hoppy golden ales in an establishment that used crystal malt only to feed the fire, but if I were seeking just to have a decent pint but in a historic pub then I think that Gazza’s choice would be much more limited and actually might miss a number of what others would consider worth consideration.

cgarvieuk
beers 37688 º places 457 º 00:24 Sat 9/22/2012

Originally posted by Fin